Team

FROM A MAN TO A TEAM: Medical and scientific experience meets management skills

It takes two disciplines to create an interdisciplinary approach while working on medical solutions and products – the broad expertise of experienced EXPERTS and responsible PEOPLE behind the role, title or expertise.

We are a team of ten people in product design and development, sales, marketing, customer service, and supply chain management. Together, we share more than forty years of medical and scientific experience together with twenty years of development expertise and more than half a century of international management in our interdisciplinary team. All team members have extensive professional histories on the international scene, including the EU, USA, Asia and the Middle East.

Sebastian Alexander

Founder and Partner | CEO

A cultural and political scientist, Sebastian Alexander is co-founder of VivoSensMedical GmbH. As a long-time employee of the International SEPT Program (Small Enterprise Promotion and Training) at the University of Leipzig, he has extensive experience in the strategic development of small and medium enterprises, as well as in the backing of university spin-offs in the medical field. As Managing Director at VivoSensMedical he is responsible for the strategic and operational fortunes of the company.

Prof. Dr. Henry Alexander

Founder and Partner | Research

Prof. Dr. Henry Alexander is Emeritus Director of the Department of Reproductive Medicine, Gynaecological Endocrinology and Sexual Medicine at the University Hospital, Leipzig. He has over 40 years of medical experience. With his support, in 1985 one of the first test-tube babies was born in Germany at the University Hospital in Leipzig. In his capacity as a reproductive medical specialist he invented OvulaRing to optimize conception. The focus of his work is interdisciplinary research and natural contraception, as well as the optimization of non-hormonal based conception. As a renowned scientist and expert he has over 25 years’ experience and has appeared on the Focus List of top doctors in Germany for the last 20 years. He is a partner at VivoSensMedical and is responsible for research.

Bettina Brammer

Partner | Marketing and Sales

As a Media Management major Bettina Brammer has many years of experience in operational and strategic marketing in the consumer goods industry and in the technology sector. She was, among other things, responsible for brand management and product and channel marketing for Ben Sherman in New York and ASICS in Japan. She gave up her position as head of marketing at the solar company Q Cells in the autumn of 2013 to take responsibility for sales and marketing at VivoSensMedical GmbH. As a former patient of hormone fertility treatment she is absolutely convinced of the product and knows the needs of the target group very well. In early 2014 Bettina became a partner at VivoSensMedical GmbH.

Alexander Heyn

Partner | Director of the Board

With a degree in Industrial Engineering, Alexander Heyn has over 20 years’ experience in various operational areas of the pharmaceutical industry. He helped to shape the development of Schering and later Bayer as market leaders in oral contraception, and thus in a core segment of the gynecological market. Before becoming a self-employed consultant and advisor at the beginning of 2013, he was, among other things, CEO of Schering and then Bayer in the Czech Republic, and was responsible for the pharmaceutical company’s strategy in Europe. Alexander Heyn joined VivoSensMedical as a partner in early 2014 and supports the company with his experience as a consultant and through his extensive networks in the areas of business development, sales and marketing.

Jan Petzel

Partner | Consultant and Business Angel

Jan Petzel studied mechanical engineering in Stuttgart, Zurich and at MIT in Boston. He has extensive international experience in business development, venture capital and private equity. He is an alumni of the MBA program at Harvard Business School and was for many years a consultant at McKinsey & Company. Most recently, he held the position of Managing Director in the private equity sector of Goldman Sachs. Since November 2014, Jan Petzel has been a shareholder at VivoSensMedical and brings with him his many years of experience as an investor and business consultant.

Holger Runkewitz

Founder and Partner | Product Development

As a graduate automation engineer specializing in medical devices, Holger Runkewitz worked with Prof. Alexander to turn the theory behind the ring into reality. He is the managing partner of inotec Research and Development mbH which, as service provider for VivoSensMedical GmbH, produces the OvulaRing. He has extensive experience in product development and in the transition into large-scale production. He is also experienced in the handling of after-sales processes, especially for medical products. He is co-founder and shareholder of VivoSensMedical GmbH and is responsible for product development.

Team

VOM ICH ZUM WIR – Medizinisch wissenschaftliche Erfahrung trifft Managementkompetenz

Interdisziplinäres Denken und Arbeiten für medizinische Lösungen und Produkte benötigt immer beide Dimensionen: Die breite Kompetenz erfahrener EXPERTEN – sowie den verantwortungsvollen MENSCHEN hinter der Funktion, dem Titel oder dem Know-how!

Wir beschäftigen über 10 Mitarbeiter in den Bereichen, Produkt-Design und Entwicklung, Sales, Marketing, Customer Service und Supply Chain. Im interdisziplinären Team sind über 40 Jahre medizinisch-wissenschaftliche Arbeit mit 20 Jahren Entwicklungs-Knowhow und über 50 Jahren internationaler Management-Erfahrungen repräsentiert. Alle Teammitglieder verfügen über weitreichende Berufserfahrung im Ausland, u.a. in der EU, USA, Asien sowie dem Nahen Osten.

Sebastian Alexander

Sebastian Alexander

Gründer und Gesellschafter | Geschäftsführung

Der studierte Kultur- und Politikwissenschaftler ist Mitgründer der VivoSensMedical GmbH. Als langjähriger Mitarbeiter des Internationalen SEPT Programms (Small Enterprise Promotion and Training) an der Universität Leipzig hat er weitreichende Erfahrung in der strategischen Entwicklung von klein- und mittelständischen Unternehmen sowie in der Begleitung von Universitäts-Spinoffs im medizinischen Bereich. Bei der VivoSensMedical leitet er als Geschäftsführer die strategischen und operativen Geschicke des Unternehmens.

Henry Alexander

Prof. Dr. Henry Alexander

Gründer und Gesellschafter | Forschung

Prof. Dr. Henry Alexander ist emeritierter Leiter der Abteilung für Reproduktionsmedizin, gynäkologische Endokrinologie und Sexualmedizin der Universitätsfrauenklinik Leipzig. Er blickt auf über 40 Jahre Erfahrung in der Medizin zurück. Mit seiner Unterstützung wurde im Universitätsklinikum Leipzig 1985 eines der ersten Retorten-Babys Deutschlands geboren. Im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit als Reproduktionsmediziner an der Universitätsklinik hat er OvulaRing zur Empfängnisoptimierung erfunden. Schwerpunkt seiner interdisziplinären Forschung und Tätigkeit ist die Empfängnisverhütung auf natürliche Art sowie die Empfängnisoptimierung auf nichthormoneller Basis. Er verfügt über 25 Jahre Erfahrung als renommierter Wissenschaftler und Experte und wird seit 20 Jahren auf der Focus-Liste für Top Ärzte in Deutschland geführt. Bei der VivoSensMedical ist er Gesellschafter und für die Forschung zuständig. Zudem nutzen wir seine wissenschaftliche Reputation und sein Netzwerk, um den OvulaRing bei Gynäkologen, in Kinderwunschzentren sowie auf medizinischen Kongressen zu promoten.

Bettina Brammer

Bettina Brammer

Gesellschafterin | Marketing und Vertrieb

Die Diplom-Medienwirtin verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung im operativen und strategischen Marketing in der Konsumgüterindustrie und im Technologiesektor und war u.a. für Ben Sherman in New York und ASICS in Japan für die Bereiche Brand Management, Produkt- und Channel-Marketing zuständig. Ihre Position als Marketingleiterin beim Solarunternehmen Q Cells hat sie im Herbst 2013 aufgegeben, um sich bei der VivoSensMedical GmbH um die Bereiche Vertrieb und Marketing zu kümmern. Als ehemalige Patientin einer hormonellen Kinderwunschbehandlung ist sie absolut überzeugt vom Produkt und kennt die Bedürfnisse der Zielgruppe ganz genau. Anfang 2014 ist Bettina zudem als Gesellschafterin eingestiegen.

Alexander Heyn

Alexander Heyn

Partner | Director of the Board

Der diplomierte Wirtschaftsingenieur verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in verschiedenen operativen Bereichen der Pharmaindustrie. Die Entwicklung von Schering und später Bayer zum Marktführer in der oralen Kontrazeption, und damit in einem Kernsegment des Gynäkologie-Marktes, hat Alexander Heyn mitgestaltet. Bevor er sich Anfang 2013 als Berater und Coach selbstständig machte, war er u.a. Geschäftsführer von Schering und Bayer in Tschechien und zuletzt für die Strategie des Pharmaunternehmens in Europa verantwortlich. Bei der VivoSensMedical ist er Anfang 2014 als Gesellschafter eingestiegen und unterstützt das Unternehmen als Berater mit seiner Erfahrung und seinem weitreichenden Netzwerk in den Bereichen Business Development, Vertrieb und Marketing.

Jan Petzel

Gesellschafter | Berater und Business Angel

Jan Petzel studierte Maschinenbau in Stuttgart, Zürich und am MIT in Boston. Er verfügt über umfangreiche internationale Erfahrungen im Bereich Business Development, Venture Capital und Private Equity. Er ist Alumni des MBA Programms der Harvard Business School, war langjähriger Berater bei McKinsey & Company und zuletzt tätig als Managing Director im Private Equity Bereich von Goldman Sachs. Seit November 2014 ist Jan Petzel  Gesellschafter bei der VivoSensMedical  und bringt seine langjährige Expertise als Investor und Unternehmensberater ein.

Holger Runkewitz

Gründer und Gesellschafter | Produktentwicklung

Als Diplom-Ingenieur für Automatisierungstechnik mit Spezialisierung auf medizintechnische Produkte hat Holger Runkewitz die Idee des Rings zusammen mit Prof. Alexander weiterentwickelt und in die Realität umgesetzt. Er ist geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der inotec Forschungs- und Entwicklungsgesellschaft mbH, die als Dienstleister für die VivoSensMedical GmbH den OvulaRing fertigt. Er verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung in der Produktentwicklung und deren Überleitung in die Serienproduktion sowie in der Abwicklung von After-Sales-Prozessen insbesondere für medizinische Produkte. Er ist Mitgründer und Gesellschafter der VivoSensMedical GmbH und für die Produktentwicklung zuständig.